Terms and Jury
PRAFOTA award is given in two categories:

Documentary Photography
Art Photography

The jury will compose a long list of 12 photographic projects and a short-list of 6 projects which are going to be published in the award annual catalogue and shown to the public in the exhibition (so far scheduled for June 2017 in CECH Art Space in Minsk).

In each category one winner will also be awarded the Grand Prix. The best photographers will be granted a possibility to attend one of the international photo events: a festival, a work-shop or a portfolio review (the form of this award is going to be proposed by the Organizational Committee after the contest results have been announced).
Photo projects made by Belarusian photographers (including photo collectives) and completed or first shown in 2015−2016 are eligible to take part in the contest.

Trailers or project previews, TV-reports, ads and web-sites designed as platforms for the demonstration of several projects or sites which serve for specific mass media are not going to be considered.

Language: all the project must have subtitles in English.
Project submission
Projects must be submitted by April 7 via email: prafota@gmail.com.

Entries must include the photographer’s short biography/information on the photo collective and their contacts (email and phone numbers).

The format for digital projects submission: web-pages or Vimeo/Youtube links — not less than HD 720px for ios/android apps.
Technical requirements
• images must have a resolution of 72 dpi, image size must be — 900 pixels in length;
• each image must be saved as a separate JPEG file;
• Adobe RGB or sRGB formats are advisable for color images, Gamma 2.2 is recommended for black and white, images submitted in CMYK format will not be considered;
• image Exif file must be saved;
• every image file info must contain a detailed caption;
"File info" must be provided in 2 languages — Russian/Belarusian and English;
• image name must contain the category name, shortened series name and the image number, for example — art_children1.jpg;
• file names must be written in Latin transcription.
The photographer declares being the author of the photographic material submitted. If any contentious issues arise, the Contest organizers have the right to require additional proof of authorship.

In case of any copyright violation, the organizational committee have right to disqualify all the photographer’s images regardless the fact whether they have been submitted or already shortlisted. In such cases the decision is taken by the organizational committee. The decision is not appealable further.

To submit the material, the photographer must be the only copyright holder or be authorized by the copyright holder in the written form.

Submitting the material the author agrees with the Contest terms granting the Contest the permission for the unlimited use of the submitted images in printed or digital versions (online, printed editions, mass media, printing production, etc) for promotion activities under the auspices of the Contest, without any remuneration being due.
Ганна Шпакава
Jury chairperson
Anna Shpakova, producer, curator and photo editor. She graduated from Lomonosov Moscow State University. Anna worked for Afisha, Ogoniok and Snob magazines, she was also Photodirector of RIA Novosti agency. Anna teaches at the Rodchenko Moscow School of Photography and Multimedia (Russia). She curates numerous exhibitions in Russia and abroad, she represented Russia at the biennial Photoquai 2011 in Paris. Anna is the finalist of POY Contest 2012 in nomination the best newspaper (Moskovskiye Novosti). She is a curator and photo editor of the multimedia project Grozny Nine Cities, the winner of the Bayeux-Calvados Prize for War Correspondents in the nomination web journalism.
Didier de Fays
Didier de Faÿs, the founder and director of 24h.com and Photographie.com — the oldest French photography online magazine which includes all genres of photography and contains exhibition and photo book reviews, essays, analysis and criticism about photography and culture.

In 1998 Photographie.com launched the Bourse du Talent photography competition which awards prizes to young photographers in four different categories: reportage, portrait, fashion and landscape. The work of the prize winners is exhibited at the Bibliothèque nationale de France every year.

In addition to these projects, Didier de Faÿs dedicates his time to bringing photographers and the public together through major events such as the Grandes Rencontres (Photography Encounters) organized each autumn during the Paris Photo Show.
Dedicated to Stanley Greene
Stanley Greene
Photojournalist, founder of NOOR agency, holder of numerous photography awards.
Stanley was born in 1949 in New York. As a teenager he was a member of the Black Panthers, an anti-Vietnam war activist and a founding member of SF Camerawork, an exhibition space for avant-garde photography. He studied photography at School of Visual Arts in New York and at Image Works in Cambridge, Massachusetts, the USA. After an encounter with Eugene Smith, Stanley came into photojournalism. He began photographing for magazines, and worked as staff photographer for the New York Newsday.

His most well known body of work is his coverage of the war in Chechnya, from which he released the book "Open Wound" (Trolley) in 2003.

Greene was awarded a Katrina Media Fellowship from the Open Society Institute in 2006. In the summer of 2010, he exhibited images of Katrina's devastation and the aftermath in a truck-exhibition in collaboration with Kadir van Lohuizen. In 2009, he released "Black Passport" (Schilt Publishing), in 2011 it received GOLD Deutscher Fotobuchpreis.

Stanley Greene has been awarded five World Press Photo awards for his work around the globe, he won the W. Eugene Smith Award and Getty Grant in editorial photography for his project on e-waste, and he was the recipient of the 2013 Aftermath Project Grant. Stanley Greene lived and worked in New York and Paris.

Died on May 19th. Summer in Minsk was scheduled his workshop for Belarusian photojournalists.